Sum Fall

Standard

The second prompt for the magical mailbox was “If you could imagine a Season what would it be?”
Lots of students from kindergarten through grade 5 submitted fantastic and creative responses.
We had many drawings, lots of writing, and one song submission. If you click on the links you can hear 5 year old Isaac singing his song “Sum Fall.” You can also hear how music teacher Mr. Myregaard took the lyrics and tune and created a “country, western” version of Isaac’s piece.
Perhaps Isaac will grow up to be a song writer some day?! Click on the arrows below to hear Isaac’s song.


Isaac D. (kindergarten)
Sum Fall
This is a season that I made up.
It happens just like this:
Some leaves of the trees stay on.
Some leaves on the trees fall off.
The leaves that stay on stay green.
The leaves that fall off change colors.
And the pine trees lose their needles.
And that’s how my season
I made up goes.

I am also posting 3 other pieces that were written submissions in response to the prompt:

Tovin H-G. (3rd grader)
If I could invent a new season it would be kind of like summer and kind of like winter. In my new season on good sledding hills it would snow. On good beaches it would be hot and sunny. And at other places it would be nice and warm. I think I would call it “Sunter.”

Sam H. (3rd grader)
If I could make a season. I would make food seasons. Food would fall from the sky. On cold days it would rain orange juice. On hot days it would fall ice cream.

Zoe C. (4th grader)
The Season of Mis Lacate!
There’s swirling and whirling!
What’s happening?
Oh My! A duplicate of myself!
It is pulling up a chair
It is climbing very high!
The season has changed from Fall
To Mis Lacate
Where duplicates of yourself appear
and make mischief!

About arts coach

I am the arts integration coach for the Integrated Arts Academy, Vermont's one and only magnet school dedicated to the arts. I work closely with classroom teachers, local artists, art organizations, and other community members to provide a network of opportunities in the arts for our students.

Leave a Reply

